You must remember the days.

The day we first met, because I don’t recall meeting you for the first time, it’s like you’ve always been there.  Does this make you my anomaly?

The day you first waved at me with a smile and I spent the entire night wondering where I’d seen you before and why you made my heart feel so light when every time something like this started my heart had always constricted and it was always heavy.

The day I limped into the halls with a cringe every time I took a step but dragged my feet back out grinning from ear to ear with you.

That afternoon when we were face to face for the first time under the same roof and I wondered if you’d thought I was pretty in the pink I turned every time you smiled.

The days of continued anguish when everything seemed like a never ending tragedy and I’d tried pretending like you never existed only for reality to come crashing because life’s not fiction, no matter how much you pretend.

That night of laughter in a new world under that incandescent light. Almost a year’s worth of want. The one we pretend never happened.

We’ve come so far and there have been so many days and so many moments that has made me giggle and smile in the middle of the street.

“Then you smiled over your shoulder
For a minute, I was stone-cold sober
I pulled you closer to my chest.”

Leave a Reply

